Using a different version of Infusionsoft? Click Here to learn more

Campaign Canvas Basics

The Campaign is where you can create automation. This can be as simple or as complex as you need it to be. 


Campaign Sequences

Where your automation is built. You can have tags applied, Tasks created, Email Sent, and more

Campaign Goals

How you add/remove contacts from the campaign sequence based on accomplishing that goal type. Example Submitting a Web Form accomplishes the Web Form Goal. If the Web Form was Before the Sequence the Contact would be added. If the Web Form was After they would be removed.  To see more on how an End Goal works


Contacts in Campaign VS Any Contact

If your campaign sequence has a middle goal. You have an option of allowing only contacts in that campaign to accomplish it to move into the following sequence OR you can allow ANY contact to accomplish it. 

An example is if you have a Purchase goal connected to a Thank You sequence. Changing it to ANY contact would allow any contact to receive the Thank You email regardless if they started in the campaign. 


Sequence Flag

A Goal after a sequence will remove the contact when accomplished. 

You do have the option to change the Sequence so that the contact is NOT removed. Changing the Flag to "Runs Until Complete" will allow the contact to stay in the current sequence until it's completed.  *Note - The contact will be moved into the sequence following the goal AND complete the sequence with the "Runs Until Complete"


Convert Goal, Duplicate, and Delete

Instead of deleting and then re-adding a Goal, you Right Click on the goal to convert it. This makes customizing your campaign a snap. The Right Click also allows you to duplicate and delete (both with goals and sequences)


Reporting Tab

View where you contacts are currently in the sequence. You have the ability to customize your date range, to view past email performance (opens, clicks, opt-out s, bounce s, etc.), all from the reporting tab in the campaign builder.

Important Note!

  • You will be able to pull reporting back to May 1st, 2017 in existing campaigns. 
  • You cannot yet click on the numbers next to the different email activities recipients are doing... future iterations will allow users to see contacts doing that behavior and take action on them

Also view the campaign email statistics, at a glance, from within the campaign builder's reporting tab. 

  • Clicking the Sequence & Email Report button will display a summary report for all sequences that contain email(s).  
  • All Sequences containing an email will be listed and a report that shows the open and click % for each email.  
  • Opt-out, Un-open counts and other useful metrics are available

To view Campaign Contacts hover over the Goals/Sequences to click the "Blue People" this can be done inside the sequence as well. 

Actions Button

Create Reporting Widget

Quickly create a Campaign Dashboard Widget

Save Version

The system automatically creates a version of each published campaign. You can also save a version whenever you wish. A version contains a snapshot of the campaign traffic sources, goals, sequences, and decisions. It is a good idea to save a version when you plan to modify it significantly by adding/removing goals and sequences. A version does not store previous content (e.g., landing page or sequence email content) or the decision point settings. Object configurations and content always reflect the most recent edits.

Restore Version

 The versions are date stamped and stored so you can rollback the campaign to a previous version. You might decide to do this if campaign performance drops after you make significant changes to it. It is a good idea to save the current version of the campaign before you restore a previous version.

Make a Copy 

 This option creates a completely new campaign by copying the existing one. The edits you make to the new campaign will not affect the original. The new campaign is "unpublished" by default. If you create a new campaign, you will need to change form code and landing page links to begin using the new goal objects. You might make a copy of a campaign to speed up the process of creating a new campaign for a different audience (e.g. partners). The email, web form, and landing page styles and content from the first campaign are applied to the copy.

Rename 

Change the name of your campaign

Revert Changes

This option allows you to "undo" the work from your current session. The revert option restores the campaign to the way it looked when you first opened it during this work session. You might need to revert a campaign if you accidentally delete campaign objects or make some other kind of significant mistake.

Unpublish

 This action will:

  • Remove all contacts from the campaign
  • Disable all automation - All published goals and sequences will be switched to the Ready state (striped green) to indicate that they are no longer published, but ready to be published again
  • The Last 24 Hour and Last 30 Day reporting data for the campaign will be preserved (Current will no longer be accessible), though it will still "expire" (e.g., 24 hours after unpublishing, the Last 24 Hour reporting will show all zeros because there will not have been any activity in that time-frame)

In addition, when unpublishing, Infusionsoft will check to see if there are any published web forms or landing pages in the campaign. If there are, you will be presented with the option to customize the error message displayed when the forms are filled out (e.g., if a form is not removed from your website, or the link to the hosted version is still live.)

Print 

This option sends the current version of the campaign to your printer.

Save as Image

This option allows you to save your campaign as a jpg image file

Merge Fields

 Campaign merge fields are useful time-savers when information in your campaign changes frequently. For example, if you have five emails in a campaign that all reference a constantly changing date, a campaign merge field will save you from editing all five emails every time the date changes; all you have to do is change the value of the campaign merge field.

  • The merge field can only be text
  • There is no limit to the amount of campaign merge fields you can create
  • A campaign merge can only be used in the campaign that it was created in
  • Campaign merge fields are available to use in any email from the campaign that it was created in

Links

Campaign links are useful time-savers when hyperlinks in your campaign emails change frequently. A campaign link works very similarly to a campaign merge field.

  • The merge field can only be text
  • There is no limit to the amount of campaign merge fields you can create
  • A campaign merge can only be used in the campaign that it was created in
  • Campaign merge fields are available to use in any email from the campaign that it was created in

Edit Campaign Category 

Organize your list of campaigns using Campaign Categories

  • To assign a campaign to a category, open your campaign and click the Edit Categories option under the Actionsdrop-down.
  • Choose the campaign category and click Save Categories.
  • A campaign can be added to multiple categories

Publish Button

To start using a campaign or have changes take effect, it must be published.


  • Make sure the objects in the campaign are in Ready mode.
  • Click the Publish button located at the top right of the campaign builder.
  • After reviewing and resolved any items discovered in the Campaign Checklist, click the Publish button again.

Whenever a change is made to a campaign, the campaign will need to be published for the changes to take effect.
Do Not mark incomplete objects as Ready or Publish them until they are complete. 


Be aware of the following

If an item is quickly switched from ready to draft to ready again, it will be flagged for publishing even when no changes have been made.

Some Goals and Sequence processes have a Draft slider that you move to Ready but some just require you to configure and click Save to become Ready. 

Draft to Ready Examples